History of winners fifa

FIFA World Cup Champions have there been 2022

FIFA World Cup

A list of all FIFA World Cup winners since the inaugural worldwide event in 1930.

FIFA World Cup

France is the incumbent FIFA World Cup winner, having won the competition for the second time in 2018. Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup five times, making them the most successful team in World Cup history.

The following is a list of all former FIFA World Cup champions:

Uruguay hosted and won the first FIFA World Cup in 1930, beating Argentina in the final.

1934 Italy – In 1934, Italy won the first of four World Cups.

1938 Italy won the final World Cup before World War II halted the event for 12 years.

Uruguay – La Celeste memorably overcame Brazil in the Maracana final in 1950 to win their second World Cup.

1954 West Germany won the World Cup, which was hosted by Switzerland.

1958 Brazilian – Pele, just 17, scored six goals as Brazil won their first World Cup.

1962 Brazil becomes the second team, after Italy, to successfully defend its World Cup title.

1966 England – Football “came home” for the first and only time in its history when England won the World Cup at Wembley Stadium in 1966.

1970 Brazil – Pele won the title for the third time in 1970. No other player in history has won more World Cups than him.

West Germany won their second World Cup in 1974, led by Gerd Müller.

1978 Argentina won the World Cup for the first time in 1978, beating the Netherlands in the final.

Italy in 1982 – A Italy, led by Paulo Rossi, won the championship in 1982.

1986 Argentina – Diego Maradona’s reputation was forged during the 1986 World Cup in Mexico, when the erratic genius virtually single-handedly guided Argentina to victory.

1990 West Germany – Argentina reached the final again in 1990, but were defeated by West Germany.

1994 Brazil – Brazil won the inaugural World Cup in North America, claiming their fourth championship.

France won the tournament at home in 1998, with players like as Zinedine Zidane, Theirry Henry, and Patrick Viera ushering in a new era of glory for Les Bleus.

2002 Brazil – Brazil won their fifth World Cup in a row, defeating Germany in the final.

2006 Italy – Despite charges of match-fixing in Serie A, Italy won the 2006 championship with tenacity.

Spain won their first World Cup in South Africa in 2010 because to their possession style of play.

2014 Germany – After reaching the semi-finals in the previous two editions, Germany finally won the championship in 2014.

2018 – France Didier Deschamps, who led France to victory in 1998, won the World Cup for the second time in 2018.

Related Story: FIFA World Cup News.